Derrick Q: “Freedom to Be Free”

You bring me shackles,

I hobble to my destiny

Head high

Seeking always seeking

 .

You bring me shackles

My heart beats its beat

Head high

Yearning always yearning

.

You bring me shackles

My eyes look outward

Head high

Tears always tears

.

You bring me shackles

My ears find sounds

Head high

Listening always listening

.

You bring me shackles

My body encompasses my senses

Head high

I thirst for inclusion

Head high

I thirst for our freedom

Head high

Let us speak together

.

Derrick Quintero: "If My Journey..."

Derrick Q: “If My Journey…”

Read more of Derrick’s writing here.

Contact information for all insiders in REACH Coalition can be found here.

About rethinkingprisons

Art, philosophy and activism from Tennessee's death row
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

